A lil’ stroll down memory lane

I’m bAAaaack! OK, I’ve actually been here the whole time but I haven’t taken the time to blog. You may have suspected that. Why? The usual. Life. Work. Writing (in other forms). I won’t make excuses because I know you all understand. But I do miss F&F, so hopefully you’ll see more from me in the future …

That said, I came across this saved draft from the summer. Yes, summer. And I’m not sure why I didn’t post it right then, as it seemed to be a simple, sweet message without needing much altercation. I probably just got distracted and then forgot, as I often do. Or my perfectionist nature was sure it needed tinkering. Whatever the reason, I remember this day fondly and wanted to share, so here it is, as is:

I often find myself downward spiraling on sick days. The kids are bickering, the weather sucks, nothing goes right. But today, I woke up feeling like CARP (as my Mom would say). Sore throat, hurts to swallow, swollen glands, earache. Just yuk. And I began to dread the day, knowing I’d have a total of 4 kiddos here (mine and 2 friends I babysit) and nervously anticipating that it could go very, very wrong.

But ya know what? It didn’t. At all. This was one of those rare days where the universe aligned and the kids have been PERFECTION. The boys spent the gorgeous and sunny morning outside drawing a bike track all over the patio with chalk.

The girls have played camping and birthday party and Mommy/Baby and hospital and vet. All. On. Their. Own.

They’ve all played chase and tag – HAPPILY – in the sunshine. They’ve invented their own games and worked out their own problems.

I’ve been needed very little, and it’s been wonderful. And so flippin’ appreciated today. At one point I actually wrapped myself up in a blanket and lay on the couch, listening to the girlies chatting in the playroom, while the boys tromped around the backyard. It was heaven.

After that I started to perk up a little, so I let the troupe watch a Magic School Bus episode while I spread cream cheese on bagels and cut up some fruit and veggies. Everyone ate a great lunch, and we started a new chapter book from the library (Dinosaur Cove: Attack of the Tyrannosaurus).

Sometimes I feel very glass-half-empty, focusing too much on the little things that *always* seem to go wrong. Today I couldn’t help but see amazing good rightness at every turn.

2 thoughts on “A lil’ stroll down memory lane

  1. Jen Zimmermann December 3, 2013 / 5:18 pm

    I always love reading your posts. They are always honest. They make me smile. Thanks for getting back to your writing. šŸ˜‰

    • amyheather74 December 3, 2013 / 5:48 pm

      Thanks, Jen, both for reading and letting me know your thoughts. Much appreciated. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

