Egg-cellent

SAMSUNG

If you are looking for an excellent how-to guide on how to make the perfect Easter eggs, you’ve stumbled in a very wrong direction, my friend.

I somehow managed to do a lot of things wrong when preparing to color our eggs this year. How difficult can it be to complete a craft from a $2.99 PAAS kit? Apparently, quite difficult indeed.

In fact, I’ve been doing at least one thing wrong for many years now according to Slate. This article recommends you never, ever actually boil your hard-boiled eggs. Which kind of makes me wonder why “boiled” is in their flippin’ name, but I digress.

So I got started off on the wrong foot, boiling the crap out of my dozen right off the bat. In fact, I even took a pic of my beautiful rolling boil (which I thought was the point) before seeing this piece. Ahh, well. Strike One.

SAMSUNG

After the well-meant stove session, I immediately soaked my eggs in ice water then put them in the fridge for our dyeing delight later in the day.

It wasn’t until I pulled them out of the icy air late in the afternoon that I read on the box: Do not use cold eggs! Well, fudge. Strike Two.

Next step was just filling the little plastic cups with water and dropping in the color tablets. Connor managed that part just fine on his own, and I added a drop of vinegar to all the cups … before reading the next sentence: Do not use vinegar in red or purple dye! Double fudge. Strike Three!

SAMSUNG

(You’d think as someone who reads and writes for a living, I might actually take a gander at the instructions before starting a project. But, alas, no.)

Here’s the most beautiful part of this whole experience, though: It all worked out, and really well, despite all the errors.

The kids and I laughed through the hiccups, deciding just to press on and see what happened. It could be an experiment, I said, and maybe later next week we’d do it again the “right” way to see if it turned out differently. I was almost a tiny bit disappointed the eggs turned out so well, as there is not much to test against in another trial.

SAMSUNG

But I was mostly pleasantly surprised and relieved the eggs turned out so gorgeous. I think it has a lot to do with having a good foundation: We started with brown eggs, and if I can give you any serious advice on coloring eggs, it is this. Use brown eggs. The natural hue makes the end result rich and warm and lovely. I’m a big fan.

SAMSUNG

Again I’m reminded of my New Year mantra: Don’t let the perfect ruin the good. I’m a perfectionist by nature and, though this can be an asset, it can also be a bit like being having a huge albatross permanently attached to your back. Especially if said albatross is constantly whispering, “You could do better.”

However I’m (very slowly) learning that perfection is unattainable, so striving towards it is futile.

It’s a simple yet liberating idea. Things don’t have to go perfectly to turn out wonderfully. I don’t think there would have been half as many giggles today without the little Uh-Ohs. And I doubt it would have been half as interesting to share the story if it had gone smoothly. Those little things that appear to be obstacles are sometimes just the spice of life. And we all need a little extra flavor now and then.

I’m not saying we shouldn’t strive to grow and be better every day, because we should. But forget about “perfect,” it doesn’t exist. Mistakes are not only OK, they can be fun!

To put it another way, even if you f*ck up, life can still be beautiful, so no need to freak out about the f*ck-ups, ya’ll. My completely non-solicited advice of the day.

Hoppy Eggster, everybody!

SAMSUNGSAMSUNG

2 thoughts on “Egg-cellent

  1. Laurel Leigh March 31, 2013 / 12:14 pm

    These are the best Easter eggs ever. This post makes my day! Happy Easter!

  2. amyheather74 March 31, 2013 / 3:05 pm

    Oh, Laurel, thank you, you’re the best! Hope you are having an egg-cellent Easter!

Leave a Reply

