My cups runneth over

SAMSUNG

I think I’m a little obsessed with the little plastic cups that come with diced fruit.

SAMSUNGThey are easy to clean and reuse for about a zillion activities. Obviously, they are perfect for serving quick and simple snacks like dried fruit, cereal and nuts.

One of our favorite uses is putting a little hummus in the bottom and sticking in pretzels and carrots.

We also like yogurt or peanut butter (or almond/sun/whatever butter you choose) with apple slices. And who doesn’t love chocolate pudding topped with whipped cream?  We even use them to hold Ona’s potty treats.

The small size is ideal – you can fill it to the brim so the kids feel like they are getting a ton, but it’s still a totally reasonable portion (for most food items).

SAMSUNG

I also use them to create faux bento boxes for the kids’ lunches. Yes, I could just buy real bento boxes, but I’m too cheap.

And the fun is only beginning! Even once you’ve worked through all the food-serving options, you can do oh so much more. We use them to hold water for paintbrushes, sort small items (like beans and marbles), grow plant starts, and create sculptures. They make excellent sand diggers, Play-doh tools, bug beds, and doll bowls. And they are super fun to play with all on their own (see Connor’s video – this was staged with just a few cups for an example, but he can really get going with a ton of these). The possibilities are virtually endless. Think outside the cup!

If you’re still wondering why this is so exciting for me, I guess it comes down to this: I hate waste. (I pride myself on using a MAX of 2 baby wipes on every diaper change, regardless of excrement size. If that gives you an idea of how strongly I feel about it.) All the senseless packaging in foods these days drives me CRAZY, but I still give in and purchase it every once in a while, if it’s (relatively) healthy and the kids like it.

SAMSUNG

So I’ll buy the diced fruit in cups (they won’t eat the stuff in cans as much … weird). And the fact that I can reuse a large part of the packaging makes me happy. It’s very satisfying for me to feel I’ve beaten the system in even the smallest of ways. Maybe a few of you will try it, too, and we’ll conserve even more together. Sweet.

4 thoughts on “My cups runneth over

  1. jo January 21, 2013 / 3:07 pm

    oh my gosh that is hilarious i do that too.. i have used them for craft stuff more than foods though, holding paint or water or whatever.. doesn’t contain enough to spill too much etc!

  2. amyheather74 January 21, 2013 / 5:57 pm

    exactly!! so glad to have a friend understand this. 😀

  3. Ellen "Armbruster" Josephsen February 15, 2013 / 9:59 am

    Thanks to your post I have started saving some of those things (do they multiply in the night like Gremlins?) and they have been really helpful in portioning out things for the twins. Like, one yogurt is too much for one kid, but voila! Whip out those cups and they won’t have yogurt that is oozing all over their lunch plate. They’re the perfect size.

    • amyheather74 February 15, 2013 / 10:14 am

      I think you’re on to something with the Gremlins theory! Glad you share my enthusiasm – they really are useful little buggers.Thanks for reading, Ellen!

Leave a Reply

