My Name Is Mud

SAMSUNG SAMSUNG

“I want some coffee, Mommy. Get it. GET it!”

Now really, the fact that these are the first words out of my darling daughter’s mouth this morning is partially my fault …

For those of you who don’t know, I am not a morning person. My kids usually wake up before me and come downstairs with Dad until he has to go to work, at which point their loving mother stumbles down the stairs, eyes squinting warily at the light and clad in a shapeless robe she plans to use as a blanket while she lays on the couch “waking up” while her coffee brews.

The kids have always been a little obsessed with my coffee ritual, as they see how important it is to me. Requests to have books read, games played or art looked at are often met with a grumpy “after I make my coffee” in the early hours of the morning (I’m not proud of any of this, mind you). After witnessing me lose my cool on more than one occasion, C has asked me, “Do you need some coffee, Mommy?” And, yes, I probably could have used some. Sigh.

At some point recently, I realized how pathetic this situation truly is, so I implemented Coffee Time Together. (If you can’t kick the habit, why not make it fun for all?) I have a real cuppa Joe, while the kids have a mug of chocolate almond milk. We sit together at the table with our “coffee” talking about how we slept and our plans for the day. Oh yes, and all the animals we saw at the zoo (this is Ona’s favorite conversation – she can work it in anywhere). Cute, right?

Well, best laid plans, as they say. Coffee Time Together quickly went from a relaxing 15 minutes to a quick 5, with the kids sometimes sucking down all their java before I even pour my vanilla soy creamer. The talking portion of our show has suffered as consequence, which was really the best part in my opinion. That and the caffeine.

And what started as an adorable bit has apparently turned into a bit of an addiction for Ona, also. So I shouldn’t be too surprised to have coffee demands bellowed at me at 6:54 a.m. this morning. And I guess I really wasn’t, which is probably why I laughed and decided to blog about it.

I would be remiss not to acknowledge the appalling etiquette my 2-year-old displayed this morning. But that is how she currently asks for EVERYTHING, at least the first time. When we request that she ask nicely, she is most gracious and polite. It’s not coming without prompting yet, though. But heck, even I have to be reminded of good manners sometimes and I’ve been doing this a lot longer …

**Fun Fact: The cup in the pics is actually from my childhood plate set. My mom takes such impeccable care of EVERYTHING … only to have it passed down to my family, who then trashes it somehow. But big Kudos to her!

6 thoughts on “My Name Is Mud

  1. Kate January 17, 2013 / 5:37 pm

    As one who gets to visit you early in the mornings…dropping another kid in the mix…you always look fantastic in your robe or whatever you are wearing, and usually look more ready to tackle the day than I do, for sure! Love reading these Amy! Keep it up!!! xoxo

    • amyheather74 January 17, 2013 / 6:01 pm

      You are too kind, Kate! Thanks so much, my friend.

  2. marcy January 18, 2013 / 5:10 am

    Still, however aggravating a kid may be to one’s pre-caffeinated brain, it’s REALLY sweet how she likes to imitate you! So….does she have a robe too?

    • amyheather74 January 19, 2013 / 2:58 am

      She actually does have a robe! 😀 And many thanks for reading!!

  3. Gi January 18, 2013 / 12:25 pm

    Your cup!!! Sweet…soft messy curls…

Leave a Reply

