Focus, baby. Focus.

68547314_be1df64d55

Even as I contemplated the first web field this morning, I found myself getting distracted from the blog creation process. All I had to do was pick a name, how hard could that be?  The first few I tried were chosen, as I expected they would be, but even as I was prepared to see the “Not Available” statement, still my mind uttered a little, “Huh,” each time. I couldn’t help but wonder about the people that ended up with the already-taken titles. I pictured them tapping away on keyboards around the world. Tappety, tap, tap. Clickety, clack, clack. (Yes, I really thought the sounds, too. I read a lot of children’s books.)

Did they try other names or luck out on the first try? What made them start a blog anyway; why take the plunge and start sharing with the world? Did they just happen to have a few extra hours in the day they were trying to fill productively (and if so, where can I meet these people and take some of their – what do you call it – free time?) Or were they inadvertently starting another mind-sucking-time-wasting pastime that will take away oh so much and give back oh so little (yes, I’m talking to you, Facebook)? Errr … where was I again?

Oh right, my new blog! Sorry for the digression, as the first paragraph indicates, I’m easily distracted. I can’t even sign up for a blog without going off in 40 different mental directions.

And yet I think that is exactly why I need Forsooth and Forsythia. I need something to organize my many (many, many) thoughts into some sort of reasonable form that may useful in the future. Or at the very least somewhat entertaining.  A few times each week  I hope to learn something new and share it on this blog, along with a few of my own words of wisdom, awe, inspiration, shock, delight or whatever seems appropriate at the time. Because of my life as a mom and writer, it would stand to reason quite a few entries might involve parenting, family and writing. But let’s not restrict ourselves to any specific limitations at this point. Let’s just keep it up for now!

Regardless of where we go from here, at least I’ve taken the first step. Name? Check! First post? Check! Houston, we are a go.

5 thoughts on “Focus, baby. Focus.

  1. Gi January 17, 2013 / 11:36 am

    I luv, luv, luv this!!!

  2. Gi January 17, 2013 / 11:39 am

    I.luv, luv, luv this!

    • amyheather74 January 17, 2013 / 6:02 pm

      Aw, thanks, Gi! And I luv, luv, luv you!! Miss ya, sis.

  3. Kimberley Ratliff January 17, 2013 / 5:48 pm

    Amy, I love it! I have kicked around the idea of starting a blog myself, but I’m afraid the bulk of my wit is far too “Erma-Bombeck-meets-Chelsea-Handler-meets-Joan-Rivers-after-a-three-day-bender” for the general public. LOL! But kudos to you for taking the plunge! I think it’s wonderful and I plan to read your mind regularly! Hope all is well!

    • amyheather74 January 17, 2013 / 6:00 pm

      For what it’s worth, I’d totally read that blog!! Thanks so much, I just hope I can keep it up!

Leave a Reply

